Leilani’s Report Card for September

Leilani’s Report Card for September

A busier September I’ve never had. Oof. After a long 12 days away (first because I was in Boston, and then because I had COVID and was too sick to care for her, so my friends kept her for me), Leilani seemed very happy to be back with me. Then she promptly got sick, right after finishing her heat cycle and returning to doggie daycare. Turns out we both have crap timing for illness. This month’s adventures Given the GI issue restricted diet, and then illness, we didn’t do much public access at all this month. However, we determined that […]

Posted September 25, 2022 by bethwyrm in Life Update / 0 Comments
Cat at Dusk by Ink Institute

Cat at Dusk by Ink Institute

The above photo was taken in direct sunlight. Ink is swatched on Clairefontaine 90gsm paper, using a glass dip pen. Specs Name: Cat at Dusk Maker: Ink Institute Color Family: Grey Properties: Shading Purchased at: Vanness What’s in a name? Ink Institute’s Cat series of inks is inspired by the daily lives of our feline friends. Cat at Dusk is meant to evoke the sleepy naps cats fall into after a full day of playing. Swatches A large swatch of ink showcases the darkest this ink gets, as well as the maximum properties it has (when held at the right angle […]

Posted September 24, 2022 by bethwyrm in Fountain Pens / 0 Comments
Set the Seas on Fire by Chris Roberson

Set the Seas on Fire by Chris Roberson

Characters: 7, I didn’t care for Bonaventure at first (Jeffries is much more my style), but after about a third of the way through, I realized I actually really liked him. Not all of the secondary characters felt distinguishable or developed, but enough did to serve the plot. Atmosphere: 8, both the monotony at sea and the lush paradise of the island felt very real. The use of language, really, is what cemented place and time for me in reading this. Writing: 8, in the vein of Master and Commander or His Majesty’s Dragon, the narration from the perspective of […]

Posted September 23, 2022 by bethwyrm in Book Review / 0 Comments
Chopped Readathon: Halloween Edition

Chopped Readathon: Halloween Edition

I participated in (barely) the Chopped Readathon this past July, but life overwhelmed me and I only read one book for it…to my eternal shame. So I’m super excited that it’s happening again, spoopy style for Halloween! Check it out. The Prompts Candy Corn: A cover with multiple color (ideally yellow, orange, and white) Pumpkin: Book with Fall vibes Pumpkin Spice Latte: A trendy or popular book Apple Pie: A comfy read, to read curled up under a blanket with a cuppa Sweet Potatoes: A larger/heartier book than I usually read (for me, 400+ pages) Eggs: A new release Chocolate […]

Posted September 22, 2022 by bethwyrm in Book Challenge / 0 Comments
Summer Purple by Kaweco

Summer Purple by Kaweco

The above photo was taken in direct sunlight. Ink is swatched on Clairefontaine 90gsm paper, using a glass dip pen. Specs Name: Summer Purple Maker: Kaweco Color Family: Purple Properties: Shading Purchased at: Goulet Pens What’s in a name? According to Kaweco’s website, this color was inspired by the fragrant summer lilacs. Also, Kaweco ink is cruelty-free and vegan! Swatches A large swatch of ink showcases the darkest this ink gets, as well as the maximum properties it has (when held at the right angle to show any shimmer or sheen). But what about when you’re writing a letter or notes with […]

Posted September 21, 2022 by bethwyrm in Fountain Pens / 0 Comments
Pirateathon Watch List

Pirateathon Watch List

Needin’ a break from your reading, but wanting to stay in the mood? We’ve got the list for ye! Below is a list of (English language) shows and movies with pirates. It’s got some classics on it, but to include every pirate movie made in the 50s, 60s, and 70s would take a dozen pages. Am I missin’ yer favorite title? Please comment below and I’ll be adding it! TV Shows Our Flag Means Death Black Sails Blackbeard (mini-series) Crossbones Once Upon a Time One Piece (anime) The Pirates of Dark Water The Lost Pirate Kingdom (docuseries) Pirate Islands Fena: […]

Posted September 20, 2022 by bethwyrm in Book Challenge / 0 Comments
The Third Voyage

The Third Voyage

Happy International Talk Like a Pirate Day! Ye’ve been a busy lot, indeed! It warms the cockles o’ me black heart to see so much fierce plunderin’ and readin’. Captain’s Log Cap’n Tea of the Sea made a stylish entrance, sailing into port on their newly acquired brigantine with a fierce reputation established, even before they’ve raised their colors! Cap’n Ellorie Wine continued their exploits with another treasure chest. Scuttlebutt says they scuttled a ship with the crew still aboard, for it. Cap’n Lily-Livered Liz has acquired for themselves a schooner! Cap’n Liza Deepsea has been spotted piloting a brigantine […]

Posted September 19, 2022 by bethwyrm in Book Challenge / 0 Comments
Bleu Ocean by Jacques Herbin

Bleu Ocean by Jacques Herbin

The above photo was taken in direct sunlight. Ink is swatched on Clairefontaine 90gsm paper, using a glass dip pen. Specs Name: Bleu Ocean Maker: Jacques Herbin Color Family: Blue Properties: Shimmering Purchased at: Goulet Pens What’s in a name? Part of Jacques Herbin’s anniversary 1670 collection, this ink was reformulated in 2015. The saturated blue with gold shimmer is meant to recall J. Herbin’s sea voyages, where he brought to France from India a new way of producing sealing wax which strengthened to lacquer, and thus adhesion, of the wax…something that made him famous at the time. Swatches A large […]

Posted September 17, 2022 by bethwyrm in Fountain Pens / 0 Comments
Legends and Lattes by Travis Baldree

Legends and Lattes by Travis Baldree

Characters: 5, the characters weren’t developed, but I did care what happened to them. This story didn’t seem to be meant to be deep or emotionally moving, more of a slice-of-life urban adventure built on a cute premise, with a dash of romance and a large helping of found family. But all the secondary characters, including the love interest, were plot functions only and their personality was largely “humans discriminate against me for my race”. Atmosphere: 8, I was definitely craving coffee (and pastries) while reading this! The description of the coffee house, the town, and the power politics at […]

Posted September 16, 2022 by bethwyrm in Book Review / 0 Comments
Mooncakes and Milk Bread by Kristina Cho

Mooncakes and Milk Bread by Kristina Cho

Happy Mid-Autumn Festival! Credibility/research: 9, the author is clear that she’s constructed recipes around her own experience as a Chinese American, exploring both traditional Chinese bakery recipes and her own modern American twist on them. Her explanation of why things work, ingredient-wise and technique-wise, lends an authority to the recipes. Authenticity/uniqueness: 9, I’ve read a lot of cookbooks, including a lot of baking books, but I can count on one finger the number of Chinese American baking cookbooks I’ve come across. It was particularly charming because I’ve eaten several of these things, but never even considered trying to make any […]

Posted September 15, 2022 by bethwyrm in Book Review / 0 Comments